Friday, April 14, 2017

April Challenge Update 2017

I made it to April, 1st, 2017 without reading a single new release. I do have several on my radar this year, but I love to focus on the backlist books at the beggining of the year. I managed to read 16 books for the challenge. As always my goal is to reduce the number of books on my Goodreads TBR list and I failed at that part this year. I started at 368 books and I'm ending the challenge with 385 books on my Goodreads TBR.

Hosted by Fantasy is more fun and Because Reading
So unfortunately I made a C for this Quarter. I read A Thousand Nights in January, but did not finish a book off the list for February or March. 


This months topic is the top books that have been on your TBR list for the longest. I have so many good books that have been on my TBR list forever. I decided to choose 3 books that I want to read soon that have been on my shelf forever. 

1. 99 Days by Katie Cotungo- I loved How to Love by Katie Cotungo and I was so excited to win this book in a giveaway except I still haven't read this book, but I hope to soon. 

2. Just One Day by Gayle Forman- I have had this book on my TBR list for 3 years and owned it for a year. It won my TBR list voting this month, so this will be read in April. 

3. Second Chance Summer by Morgan Matson- I love Morgan Matson and I'm excited to read this book this summer. 





March Wrap Up and April TBR


March was a huge audiobook month for me. I listened to Anne of Green Gables, Cross My Heart and Hope to Spy, and Before I Fall as an audiobook. I read Okay for Now at school with my 6th graders and just barely finished it when I was done with my placement.

The Opposite of Me was a slow book and I did not end up enjoying this book. It really has slowed down my reading for the year. I however, loved The Sun is Also a Star and I'm excited to read more by Nicola Yoon.



I read one book off my March TBR. I'm currently read PS I Still Love You. I'm planning on reading Two by Two next and Just One Day is going to be my Dewey's readathon book.

Saturday, April 8, 2017

April To Be Read List Winner

Hosted by Because Reading

Thank you so much for voting. I was pretty close to a three way tie, but I was lucky enough to have a winner. I do hope to read all of these books eventually, but I'm excited to read my winner for the month. 


Just One Day by Gayle Forman is my winner. I'm so excited to read another book by Gayle Forman. This will be my fourth book by this author. 


Saturday, April 1, 2017

April TBR List 2017 ~ Let's Vote

Hosted by Because Reading
I continue to look for those forgotten books on my goodreads TBR to read for My TBR List. You guys chose The Opposite of Me in February and I couldn't remember a thing about this book or why I added it to my list. I chose these three books from my Goodreads TBR using random.org and I'm so excited to see which one you guys pick. I think I'm going to enjoy any of these three books and as always I want to read them all eventually.

The amazing power and truth of the Rapunzel fairy tale comes alive for the first time in this breathtaking tale of desire, black magic and the redemptive power of love.

French novelist Charlotte-Rose de la Force has been banished from the court of Versailles by the Sun King, Louis XIV, after a series of scandalous love affairs. At the convent, she is comforted by an old nun, Sœur Seraphina, who tells her the tale of a young girl who, a hundred years earlier, is sold by her parents for a handful of bitter greens...

 After Margherita's father steals parsley from the walled garden of the courtesan Selena Leonelli, he is threatened with having both hands cut off, unless he and his wife relinquish their precious little girl. Selena is the famous red-haired muse of the artist Tiziano, first painted by him in 1512 and still inspiring him at the time of his death. She is at the center of Renaissance life in Venice, a world of beauty and danger, seduction and betrayal, love and superstition.

 Locked away in a tower, Margherita sings in the hope that someone will hear her. One day, a young man does.

 Award-winning author Kate Forsyth braids together the stories of Margherita, Selena, and Charlotte-Rose, the woman who penned Rapunzel as we now know it, to create what is a sumptuous historical novel, an enchanting fairy tale retelling, and a loving tribute to the imagination of one remarkable woman.


A modern-day fairy tale set in a mysterious museum that is perfect for readers of Roald Dahl and Blue Balliett.

 Unlikely heroine Ophelia Jane Worthington-Whittard doesn't believe in anything that can't be proven by science. She and her sister Alice are still grieving for their dead mother when their father takes a job in a strange museum in a city where it always snows. On her very first day in the museum Ophelia discovers a boy locked away in a long forgotten room. He is a prisoner of Her Majesty the Snow Queen. And he has been waiting for Ophelia's help.

 As Ophelia embarks on an incredible journey to rescue the boy everything that she believes will be tested. Along the way she learns more and more about the boy's own remarkable journey to reach her and save the world.

 A story within a story, this a modern day fairytale is about the power of friendship, courage and love, and never ever giving up.

Allyson Healey's life is exactly like her suitcase—packed, planned, ordered. Then on the last day of her three-week post-graduation European tour, she meets Willem. A free-spirited, roving actor, Willem is everything she’s not, and when he invites her to abandon her plans and come to Paris with him, Allyson says yes. This uncharacteristic decision leads to a day of risk and romance, liberation and intimacy: 24 hours that will transform Allyson’s life.

 A book about love, heartbreak, travel, identity, and the “accidents” of fate, Just One Day shows us how sometimes in order to get found, you first have to get lost. . . and how often the people we are seeking are much closer than we know.

 The first in a sweepingly romantic duet of novels. Willem’s story—Just One Year—is coming soon!

Wednesday, March 8, 2017

3/4 Done with Student Teaching

I'm 3/4 of the way done with student teaching! I finished my placement in Kindergarten in October and my placement in 5th grade in December. I'm now done with my 1st special education experience in 5th/6th grade. I honestly have had a really amazing student teaching experience and so far I have had three really great mentor teachers that have passed on their knowledge to me and helped me to become a better teacher. I'm especially thankful for this special education experience because she has really understood me and that I am in my 2nd semester of student teaching. She has given me so much freedom. We spent a few days together at the beginning of my placement and then she let me just take over her schedule and she spent some time with other students. She would come check in on me, but I really loved being left alone. I finally felt like I could do things my way and try some new things I have wanted to try. I just felt like she trusted me. She knew that if she did leave I still would be teaching and doing what I need to do. She saw my passion for teaching and she gave me the most amazing, honest evaluation.

After half a year in 5th/6th grade I'm extremely sad to leave this placement. I have spend a lot of time getting to know the 5th graders and I really have enjoyed working with them. I haven't had as much time with the 6th graders and although some days they make me want to pull my hair out I still enjoy teaching them and spending my days with them. I have gotten to know the staff in this building and everybody has been great as I go on this journey.

My final placement is in high school SPED. I'm super scared about my move to high school. I 'm going into a new building where I don't know my way around and I don't know any of the staff members. My biggest worry is the students and if they will accept me as their teacher for the time I'm there. I don't plan to work with high school students, but I need to give it my best shot during student teaching and perform well enough to pass my final evaluations for graduation. I need to pass one last observation by my university supervisor and once May 1st rolls around evaluations will be done and I can breathe. Fake it to you make it is my saying for high school. I'm sure I will grow to like the students, but I'm not meant to be a high school teacher. My dream is to be a kindergarten teacher and that dream still stands. I try to remember that when I first moved to 5th grade I was scared too because in my mind 5th graders were way too old. I have always loved the little kids, but it took me until student teaching to make me realize that I could be a great teacher to older kids also. I don't know that I will change my mind about high school, but I can most likely be a great teacher for the time being.

I have begun applying for jobs and I'm waiting to hear if I get interviews. I'm working on the last of my homework and I'm close to being done with homework for the semester, so I can focus on interviews. We have Thursday and Friday off this week and I'm excited to have such a long weekend. I'm so ready to have a classroom of my own and I'm so excited to embrace this adventure of being a 1st year teacher and giving my students my all.