Saturday, April 1, 2017

April TBR List 2017 ~ Let's Vote

Hosted by Because Reading
I continue to look for those forgotten books on my goodreads TBR to read for My TBR List. You guys chose The Opposite of Me in February and I couldn't remember a thing about this book or why I added it to my list. I chose these three books from my Goodreads TBR using and I'm so excited to see which one you guys pick. I think I'm going to enjoy any of these three books and as always I want to read them all eventually.

The amazing power and truth of the Rapunzel fairy tale comes alive for the first time in this breathtaking tale of desire, black magic and the redemptive power of love.

French novelist Charlotte-Rose de la Force has been banished from the court of Versailles by the Sun King, Louis XIV, after a series of scandalous love affairs. At the convent, she is comforted by an old nun, Sœur Seraphina, who tells her the tale of a young girl who, a hundred years earlier, is sold by her parents for a handful of bitter greens...

 After Margherita's father steals parsley from the walled garden of the courtesan Selena Leonelli, he is threatened with having both hands cut off, unless he and his wife relinquish their precious little girl. Selena is the famous red-haired muse of the artist Tiziano, first painted by him in 1512 and still inspiring him at the time of his death. She is at the center of Renaissance life in Venice, a world of beauty and danger, seduction and betrayal, love and superstition.

 Locked away in a tower, Margherita sings in the hope that someone will hear her. One day, a young man does.

 Award-winning author Kate Forsyth braids together the stories of Margherita, Selena, and Charlotte-Rose, the woman who penned Rapunzel as we now know it, to create what is a sumptuous historical novel, an enchanting fairy tale retelling, and a loving tribute to the imagination of one remarkable woman.

A modern-day fairy tale set in a mysterious museum that is perfect for readers of Roald Dahl and Blue Balliett.

 Unlikely heroine Ophelia Jane Worthington-Whittard doesn't believe in anything that can't be proven by science. She and her sister Alice are still grieving for their dead mother when their father takes a job in a strange museum in a city where it always snows. On her very first day in the museum Ophelia discovers a boy locked away in a long forgotten room. He is a prisoner of Her Majesty the Snow Queen. And he has been waiting for Ophelia's help.

 As Ophelia embarks on an incredible journey to rescue the boy everything that she believes will be tested. Along the way she learns more and more about the boy's own remarkable journey to reach her and save the world.

 A story within a story, this a modern day fairytale is about the power of friendship, courage and love, and never ever giving up.

Allyson Healey's life is exactly like her suitcase—packed, planned, ordered. Then on the last day of her three-week post-graduation European tour, she meets Willem. A free-spirited, roving actor, Willem is everything she’s not, and when he invites her to abandon her plans and come to Paris with him, Allyson says yes. This uncharacteristic decision leads to a day of risk and romance, liberation and intimacy: 24 hours that will transform Allyson’s life.

 A book about love, heartbreak, travel, identity, and the “accidents” of fate, Just One Day shows us how sometimes in order to get found, you first have to get lost. . . and how often the people we are seeking are much closer than we know.

 The first in a sweepingly romantic duet of novels. Willem’s story—Just One Year—is coming soon!


  1. I picked Ophelia and the Marvelous Boy. I have wanted to read that one, would love to see what you think. Hope you love whichever one wins! :)

  2. Bitter Greens is on my TBR pile. I hope to read it . . . someday. Maybe if you read it and love it, I'll get to it sooner. Haha I hope you enjoy whichever wins!

  3. Ophelia and the Marvelous Boy sounds really good and I love the cover so I went with that one!

  4. I voted for Just One Day as I like the sound of the blurb. I hope whichever one wins is a good one!

  5. I went with Bitter Greens, it fits my reading mood!

  6. It went with Bitter Greens. I like the title and fairy retellings can be so interesting


Hi my name is Rachael and I want to thank you for commenting on my blog. I appreciate every single comment I receive and I reply back to all comments.